Skip to main content

Oklahoma Court Approved Class for Divorcing Parents. This is the place to find information on classes for divorcing parents. Parents who are in the process of a divorce can find more information on the Co-Parenting for Resilience website. More information about the class is below.


Co-Parenting Dates for

Oklahoma County

At this time, we have in-person classes that are being held (subject to change) and online classes. You may register  for an online class which is $55.00.

 

The following in-person classes are scheduled, but subject to change. The below classes are held at the OSU/OKC, Student Center, 900 North Portland Ave. OKC, OK.  These in-person classes are $35 and you must call 405-713-1125 to register.

 

ENGLISH

Classes are held on Tuesdays.

  • October 12 | 6:00pm - 10:00pm
  • October 26 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm
  • November 9 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm
  • November 30 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm
  • December 14 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm

SPANISH

Classes are held on Saturdays.

  • October 9 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm
  • November 6 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm
  • December 4 | 12:30pm - 4:30pm

What is this class all about?

How parents handle the divorce can make it better or worse for their children.
Many children have a very difficult time adjusting to their parents' divorce.
This can lead to depression, anxiety, academic failure, delinquency, drug use, teen pregnancy, and other negative outcomes. Children may also fear the loss of one or both of their parents and have a hard time switching between their parents' homes.

 

Co-parenting classes teach parents to handle their emotions better and to keep their children out of the middle of their divorce. They also offer many positive tips on how to talk with your child to help him or her to adjust more quickly to the divorce.
Researchers who have studied the effects of these classes have found them to be beneficial for most parents. 

 

After taking the class, most parents agree that the class was worthwhile and helpful. 


Do I have to take the class?

The short answer is yes.

 

Because research has shown that divorce can cause so many problems for children, many judges in Oklahoma have been ordering couples to a co-parenting workshop for years.

 

Now that research has shown the positive benefits of these classes, the Oklahoma State Legislature passed a law requiring all parents of a minor child that are divorcing for reasons of incompatibility to attend a co-parenting workshop before their divorce will be granted.

 

If you are in an domestic violence shelter or involved in a relationship in which there is ongoing domestic violence, your judge may exempt you from the class. You should talk with your lawyer.

 

You can request to not take the class with the person you are divorcing regardless of whether you have a restraining order. Please indicate the name of the person on your registration form.


Registering for a Class

You should register for your class as soon as possible to the start date. This will help guarantee your seat in the class and allow time for the county office to make up your certificate of completion.

 

To register for the Co-Parenting for Resilience class you need to do four things:

  1. Choose the class you wish to attend by going to the Co-Parenting Calendar. Note how much the fee is (each county establishes the fee for their county) and where the class is being offered – this may or may not be at the county office.
  2. Print and fill out the file: Co-Parenting Registration Form
  3. Prior to the class, you need to complete a survey online Co-Parenting Survey
  4.  After you finish the survey, you will be directed to a survey verification form. Print the survey verification form.

Place the survey verification form, the completed registration form, and a check or money order for the fee in an envelope and return it to:

 

Oklahoma County OSU Extension, Co-Parenting
2500 NE 63rd 
OKC, OK 73111

 

If you wish to pay with credit over the phone, please have your information available and call (405) 713-1125, Monday - Friday between 8:00 am - 4:15 pm.

 

Once the county office receives your forms they will register you for the next available class. 

Back To Top
MENUCLOSE